Mega Moonie

Can it be possible that our destinies are laid out in the stars?

Bunkum, I say. I carry out my daily Snorting With Derision practice using those forecasts which haunt the back pages of the tabloids. Yet even that pillar of the establishment, The Times, carries star sign forecasts for us all within its leaves.

On a Sunday, when  no-one is looking, I pause the snorts and peek at Aries, combing it for any sign that the next week will be a good one. Ridiculous but oh-so-irresistible: will someone please tell me what my life is about? Who better than Shelley Von Strunckel of The Times, dubbed the “thinking man’s astrologer”, to take hold and tell me that the position of the planets and stars affects my life personally?

Aristotle thought so. He argued that the full moon caused insanity in some.

The three magi agreed. The Zoroastrian cabal claims to have used a star to lead them to a scene which changed the course of time.

Back in the 14th century, medics were of the opinion that the moon affected the four elements which made up the human body: earth, air, fire and water. So before making a diagnosis, one checked one’s patients’ star charts, you may be sure.

Zodiac charts have endured, mapping out with bombastic authority the significance of a cosmos for a speck on its surface.

Time to consult an expert: be still, the beating hearts of British housewives.

For the perfect creative male amalgam is among us. He is a pop star with a doctorate and a cool haircut. He stands beneath the stars and wonders at the universe on our television screens, and many of us are felled, instantly.

Dr Brian Cox can talk to us about the universe any day.

A devastatingly dashing particle physicist, Royal Society Research Fellow and Professor at Manchester University, the man also found time to play keyboards for the 90s group D-Ream.

And he works on the ATLAS experiment at the Hadron Collider in Geneva.

Can it get any better?

Reader, it just did. Because this is a mainstream blog I may have to use a few stars today. On Twitter last Sunday the icon had received his fill of queries about an upcoming event which has set us all a-fluttering foolishly about just what effect the moon really does have on this sphere of ours.

On Saturday March 19th, the elliptical path of the moon brings it up close and personal. The moon customarily ambles round the earth in an ellipse: an oval shape. Thus, sometimes it has a distant detachment; and at other times it is in our face.

As Father Ted once said, when using plastic cows to demonstrate perspective to his simple-minded curate Father Dougal: OK, one last time. These are small… but the ones out there are far awaySmall… far away… ah forget it!”

For us, in a few days, the moon will be big. And close. The difference, Reader, is about 50,000 kilometres; or 14 per cent bigger and 30 per cent brighter than the smallest, farthest away moon, to you and me.

And with almost perfect synchronicity , that special moment of closeness – or ‘perigee’ – occurs within an hour of the fullest moon.

What are the chances of that?

All human life is here, in this cyber world we have become accustomed to inhabiting. And a vociferous and slightly overexcited sector of the cyber-population have been touting some delicious bunkum.

That august online publication, Yahoo News, posted an article featuring Richard Nolle, a noted astrologer who runs the website astropro.com. In his wisdom he has dubbed the upcoming event an ‘extreme supermoon’.

Now I’m intimidated. I can never think of a thing to say around noted astrologers.

The Yahoo article continues: “When the moon goes super-extreme, Nolle says, chaos will ensue: Huge storms, earthquakes, volcanoes and other natural disasters can be expected to wreak havoc on Earth.”

Everyone, but everyone is now talking about it.

Where Yahoo goes, there it seems must national institutions follow: the Daily Mail Online tagged on with a jolly responsible inside look at what lunar-tics are predicting and then a potter off to the experts at the International Centre for Radio Astronomy for the science bit.

A cursory visit to NASA online smooths ruffled feathers.

The organisation’s Dr Tony Philips writes: “In most places, lunar gravity at perigee pulls tide waters only a few centimeters (an inch or so) higher than usual. Local geography can amplify the effect to about 15 centimeters (six inches)–not exactly a great flood.

“Indeed, contrary to some reports circulating the Internet, perigee Moons do not trigger natural disasters. The “super moon” of March 1983, for instance, passed without incident. And an almost-super Moon in Dec. 2008 also proved harmless.”

So: our earth’s destiny is not tied up with this particular astral event.

What this cyber hysteria needed, reader, was a blunt cyber-object. And it arrived in the form of a cudgel from Dr Brian.

In possibly my favourite tweet of all time, he says: “Stop asking about the ****** so-called Megamoon. It has *** all to do with anything!”

Dr Brian: I thank you.

(Do check out the original tweet here. it’s much, much better…)

31 thoughts on “Mega Moonie

  1. I don’t get all this fuss about Brian Cox. Smart? Yes. Interesting? Ok. But dishy? Only if you like scruffy, over-tall blokes with funny mouths.

    I take it you do? 🙂

  2. I wonder, will we feel more romantic looking up at the big moon, or annoyed that it’s extra-bright reflection shows up the imperfections?

    And we must all go and measure the high tides, just to be sure it’s no more than predicted. OOps – I live a long way from the sea, maybe I’ll go and measure the tidal effect in the fishpond 😉

    1. Ha! I can just see you there with a ruler, checking it out, Sidey….I have a feeling other people do that for us at the seaside and we might be able to track the measurements.

      I, however, will be craning my neck trying to get a very beautiful photo of the mega moon itself. Let us hope Britain does not choose that day to be cloudy.

  3. Wonderful post.

    Peter Hanson (FB friend) is celebrating his birthday on Saturday. He mentioned the perigree moon to me. I looked it up to see its portent.

    You’ve taken it a step farther and laid it out beautifully! Especially enjoyed: Now I’m intimidated. I can never think of a thing to say around noted astrologers. 😀

    I’m with you all the way about Horoscopes ~ entirely unpersuaded about their accuracy, I am none-the-less drawn to them by the pull of the moon on the tides.

    Thanks, Kate!

  4. Nice – it might not having ***-all to do with anything but Prof Bri doesn’t need to be so po-faced about it

    1. One of the drawbacks to being famous and accessible-looking is that everyone thinks you’re their best mate, especially after a pint. I imagine manymanymany people had supped their fifth, and when their conversation happened upon the megamoon they slurred happily “I know, let’s ask old Brian…”

      I bet he’d had enough queries to test his patience sorely 😀

  5. I’m looking forward to seeing this super-duper-mega-moon. It’s an excuse to gape at the sky in wonder, and now, thanks to this post, I can sound learned while I gape. Thanks for that!

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! And lovely to have you come over and take a look. None of us will be at the keyboard tomorrow, I suspect- as long as the sky is right we’ll be gazing up at it!

  6. The full moon is tomorrow I think, but tonight the moon as it rose as the sun set was fantastic – but the camera was on charge! Fingers crossed for tomorrow.

    Brian is a hero – gives physics a phyzz 🙂

    1. He certainly does, Pseu 🙂 I love it that he parked next to Patrick Moore on The Sky At Night. Minds are universal, are’t they? Age and generation simply disappear when people like that are in the same room together.

  7. Every time Gemini says “This is your lucky day” “Go for the gold !” “Money is at hand” I bet a zillion on everything on which I can possible gamble and ain’t never won beans.

    1. I wonder, Carl, does the fact that you’ve never won beans increase the probability of you winning from now on? My friend Miff will help with that – I’ll ask 🙂

  8. I really like the idea of scheduling a Snorting with Derision practice, so I don’t end up sounding like I have a bad head cold or am choking if I ever attempt it in public.

  9. Fascinating – thanks, Kate. A colleague of mine said on Friday that you can get a T-shirt that says, ‘I love Cox’ with photo of Dr Brian Cox above the wording. She thought about it a bit and then said, “I think I’d rather love that!”
    Sunshine xx

  10. kate – this one is a particularly juicy post.

    ““When the moon goes super-extreme, Nolle says, chaos will ensue: Huge storms, earthquakes, volcanoes and other natural disasters can be expected to wreak havoc on Earth.”

    Everyone, but everyone is now talking about it.”

    i sat by the moon on saturday…unfortunately it felt like every other beautiful full moon.

    i hope all is well with you!

    1. Ah, well, living where you live out there in the desert, UE, the skyscapes must always be spectacular. I am envious! Yes, All fine thanks. I continue to love your posts. Always something new to learn.

Leave a comment